San Diego Sheriff’s Dept. Awarded DUI Reduction Grant
The $250,000 grant will fund a year’s worth of special operations and campaigns.
Governor Brown recently signed a new Bill establishing a new drunk driving law in the state of California. An ignition interlock device will be required for variable amounts of time for those with any number of DUI offenses. The new law will not go into effect until 2019, but news of this serves as a warning of future consequences for those who drive under the influence.
Ignition Interlock Requirement for DUI Offenders Signed Into Law by Gov. Jerry Brown
A bill requiring most convicted drunken drivers to install ignition interlock devices that would prevent them from driving while intoxicated was signed into state law Wednesday.
The bill will expand an existing four-county pilot program that requires the devices, which are essentially in-vehicle Breathalyzers. The statewide program will go into effect Jan. 1, 2019.California Gov. Jerry Brown signed Senate Bill 1046, the advocacy group Mothers Against Drunk Driving announced.
Authored by state Sen. Jerry Hill of San Mateo, the bill will require or allow use of ignition interlock devices aka an IIDs in several circumstances:
- for a first DUI offense involving an injury, an IID would be required for six months;
- for first non-injury DUI offense, an offender may choose to have an IID for six months with full driving privileges, or a one-year restricted license that only allows driving to work, alongside a treatment program;
- for a second DUI offense, an IID would be required for a year;
- for a third DUI, an IID would be required for two years; and
- for fourth and subsequent DUIs, IIDs would be required for three years.
The devices cost about $60 to $80 per month, with an installation fee of $70 to $150, according to Hill. The bill includes a program to help low-income offenders.
In a news release, Hill cited figures that state about 1,000 people die in California each year due to drunken drivers, and more than 20,000 are injured.
MADD was a major backer of the bill.
No parent should have to lose their child to the criminal negligence of a drunk driver especially when technology exists to prevent such a tragedy, said MADD board member Mary Klotzbach, whose son Matt was killed by a drunken driver in 2001, in a statement.
Since the pilot program began in 2010 through late last year, the devices have stopped about 125,000 attempts to drive by offenders with a blood-alcohol content of .08 percent or higher, according to MADD data.The pilot program covered Los Angeles, Alameda, Sacramento and Tulare counties.
And a DMV report last year found that IIDs are 74 percent more effective than licenses suspensions in preventing repeat DUIs for first-time offenders.
Twenty-eight states require the devices for all drunken driving offenders, according to Hill.
Just under two years ago, two Los Angeles police officers arrested a driver for a hit-and-run, but allegedly failed to conduct DUI procedures as witnesses say the driver was very drunk. The officers are now being accused of one felony count each and could face prison time. If anyone is drunk and gets behind the wheel, consequences should be expected. A case like this is an example of how long consequences can be drawn out for all parties involved.
Two Los Angeles police officers have been charged with covering up a crash involving a drunk driver and later filing a false police report, prosecutors say.
Following an internal affairs inquiry, Officers Rene Ponce and Irene Gomez were charged Sept. 6 with a felony count each of filing a false report and conspiracy to commit an act injurious to the public, according to the Los Angeles County district attorneys office. Both pleaded not guilty last week.
The two were patrolling the Hollenbeck Divisions Boyle Heights area on Oct. 26, 2014, when they were dispatched to a crash in the 3000 block of East Side Boulevard.
Prosecutors said an intoxicated driver had smashed into two parked vehicles, but the officers opted not to conduct a drunk driving investigation.
In their report, Ponce, 39, and Gomez, 38, lied and wrote that the driver had fled the scene, according to the felony complaint filed in Los Angeles County Superior Court.
This Labor Day is a great time to enjoy yourself with the festivities to celebrate the working people, but it is also a time where cops are going to be out in full force policing roadways and looking for reasons to pull people over. Don’t be one of those getting a DUI this weekend. Check this site periodically throughout the holiday weekend to get updated locations for these checkpoints.
California DUI Checkpoints
Click here to stay up-to-date with the newest checkpoints, updated in real time: http://bit.ly/1WQWw1U
A law was recently passed by the Supreme Court forcing police officers to have a warrant to conduct blood alcohol tests after pulling an individual over for a suspected DUI. The interpretation of this law is worrisome to PA residents because those who have previously had a blood test, and therefore were charged, might now want to appeal that.
In the weeks following a Supreme Court ruling that police need warrants to get blood alcohol tests on people stopped for driving under the influence, law enforcement authorities remain uncertain of its impact.
From the state to local levels, authorities are still sorting out the June 23 ruling, which followed appeals by three people who had been arrested for driving under the influence.
The people, in North Dakota and Minnesota, submitted to blood tests after being told they faced criminal penalties if they refused.
The ruling bars police from levying charges or threatening to charge those who refuse a blood test.
Police do not need warrants for breath tests, which can be given on the spot. Refusing to take a breath test can result in a criminal penalty.
In Pennsylvania, people who refuse the blood tests aren’t charged for that, but do face steeper penalties if they are convicted, including losing their licenses for a year.
For Philip Gelso, president of the Pennsylvania Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, the ruling makes Constitutional sense.
“The ruling makes it clear that you need a search warrant. The bottom line is that it’s no different from your house. To get into your house, (police) need a search warrant and probable cause. It’s the Fourth Amendment protection (against unreasonable searches and seizures),” he said.
Law authorities are working to better understand the ruling.
“The department is analyzing the ruling and our stations throughout the commonwealth continue to work with the respective county district attorneys to follow guidance provided as a result of the ruling,” said state police Cpl. Adam Reed.
In Carbon County, District Attorney Jean A. Engler is proceeding with caution.
“We’re waiting to get some guidance statewide so all of the counties can address this in a uniform manner,” she said.
Engler has sent letters to police chiefs who have asked for guidance, “but I’m careful to say this is until further notice.”
Both Schuylkill County District Attorney Christine A. Holman and Engler are concerned the ruling will burden police and district judges, and predict a tsunami of appeals from people who contend they were coerced into the tests.
Engler is concerned the ruling may trigger a tidal wave of appeals of drunk driving convictions.
“We’re certainly going to contest the retroactivity, she said. “That could affect hundreds of thousands of cases.”
She also said appeals to a higher court are likely.
“Unfortunately, it will be awhile until we get a review by an appellate court in Pennsylvania,” Engler said.
“One of our judges will make a decision, and the aggrieved party will file an appeal. But that could take six month to a year,” she said.
Holman has sent instructions on the ruling to police departments. The instructions state the ruling makes it illegal to impose or threaten to impose penalties for refusal to submit to a blood alcohol test, absent a warrant or an emergency situation.
Breath tests are allowed without warrants, and departments that have the machines should use them.
If police suspect a driver is under the influence of drugs, and that person refuses a blood test, police can call in a Drug Recognition Expert, the instructions state.
There are 156 drug recognition experts in Pennsylvania, most of them at state police barracks.
Or, police can seek a warrant, or note the emergency situation that does not allow for the time needed to get a warrant.
Flood of hearings
The reasons must be stated in affidavits of probable cause and written reports.
“At this time, it is unclear what effects this decision will have upon pending DUI charges,” Holman notes on the instructions. “We are continuing to analyze this decision and confer with other prosecuting agencies to anticipate the extent of the repercussions this decision will have upon Pennsylvania DUI law.”
She warns of a “flood of suppression hearings” for DUI cases in the wake of the ruling.
However, she warns people the ruling doesn’t give them a pass to drive under the influence.
“We’re going to be relying heavily on DREs and breath tests,” Holman said. “If they are pulled over, they are going to be detained longer than they would have been previously if they refuse a test.”
Chief Detective Dolly Malec said there has been a large increase in the numbers of drugged driving cases that may require a drug expert if the blood test is refused.
Holman also said district judges have called her, worried about a possible tidal wave of warrant requests.
The requests are liable to be a headache for district judges who may be hauled out of bed at 3 a.m. to type up a warrant.
It’s every parent’s worst nightmare to have their child killed. We are biologically programmed to do anything to keep our children alive and one way that we can do that is to be extra vigilant before and during the time that they start driving. In addition to teaching them the rules of the road, we have to teach them not to drink and drive.
Learning to drive is an exciting time for a teenager, and a stressful
one for any and all parents. A driver’s license brings freedom and a
new level of independence, but it can also bring serious risks. Learning
to operate a vehicle under a variety of circumstances takes practice
and is a skill that is developed over time. It’s no surprise that car
crashes are the number one cause of death for teenagers, resulting in six teen deaths every day.
Too often, our sons and daughters are injured or even killed because
they are inexperienced drivers, taking unnecessary risks like texting,
driving under the influence, speeding and not wearing a seat belt. Our
sons make up three out of four teen deaths in car crashes, and the risk of a crash by teen drivers is almost three times higher if their passengers are male.
But parents can play an important role in preventing these tragedies.
According to our study
supported by the General Motors Foundation, when parents and teens
discuss rules for driving and come to a formal agreement, whether verbal
or written, teens are less likely to engage in risky behavior while
For example, teens told us when they have an established family rule
against drinking and driving they were 10 times less likely to drive
after drinking than those who didn’t have an established rule. Teens
with explicit family rules were more likely to wear their seat belt
every time and were less likely to drive distracted or speed.
What parents do
behind the wheel also matters. Teens who saw a parent driving after
drinking were three times more likely to report driving after drinking
than teens whose parents modeled safe behavior. And we know from past research that teens were more likely to buckle up on every ride if their parents made buckling up a consistent habit from a young age.
Read more at: http://huff.to/29yZxCO
This 4th of July is a great time to celebrate 240 years since our nation’s independence day but it is also a time where cops are going to be out in full force policing roadways and looking for reasons to pull people over. Don’t be one of those getting a DUI this weekend. Check this site periodically throughout the holiday weekend to get updated locations for these checkpoints.
With a three day weekend comes some much needed time off of work and for many; travel plans. It is great to have the time to go and see friends and family and do all sorts of fun things on this holiday but this is also a time that the police are out in full force, setting up check points and task forces to catch drunk drivers in the act. The police are very secretive about where these locations will be but this is a very cool resource that allows you to see where the checkpoints have been in the past and if you subscribe to their service, where ones are in your location right now. Cops are looking for reasons to pull you over, so be careful on the road tonight and remember that the North County DUI Center is here for you.
Local DUI Checkpoints
|Los Angeles||San Gabriel||Las Tunas Dr and N Muscatel Ave||Sat May 21, 2016|
|Riverside||Murrieta||Scott Rd||Sat May 21, 2016|
|San Bernardino||Fontana||E Foothill Blvd and Cherry Ave||Sat May 21, 2016|
|Solano||Fairfield||Undisclosed Location – City Limits||Sat May 21, 2016|
|San Bernardino||Chino Hills||Grand Ave and Pipeline Ave||Fri May 20, 2016|
|Orange||La Habra||La Habra Blvd and Cypress St||Fri May 20, 2016|
|Orange||Tustin||Newport Ave and I-5||Fri May 20, 2016|
|Santa Barbara||Lompoc||Ca-1 and Chestnut Ave||Fri May 20, 2016|
|Los Angeles||Lancaster||W Ave K and Gadsden Ave||Fri May 20, 2016|
|Los Angeles||Los Angeles||Colorado Blvd and Eagle Rock Blvd||Fri May 20, 2016|
|Los Angeles||Los Angeles||Florence Ave and S Main St||8pm To 2am – Fri May 20, 2016|
|Santa Barbara||Goleta||Undisclosed Location – City Limits||6pm To 3:30am – Fri May 20, 2016|
|Stanislaus||Modesto||Undisclosed Location – City Limits||Fri May 20, 2016|
|San Bernardino||Ontario||E Mission Blvd and E Philadelphia St||6pm To 2am – Fri May 20, 2016|
|Sacramento||Sacramento||Meadowview Rd and Amherst St||7:30am – Fri May 20, 2016|
|Los Angeles||Whittier||Mulberry Dr and Santa Fe Springs Rd||7pm To 2:30am – Fri May 20, 2016|
|Santa Barbara||Santa Maria||Undisclosed Location||6pm To 3am – Fri May 20, 2016|
|Riverside||Lake Elsinore||Undisclosed Location||9pm To 3am – Fri May 20, 2016|
|Riverside||Palm Desert||Fred Waring Dr and Portola Ave||Fri May 20, 2016|
|Los Angeles||Malibu||Pacific Coast Hwy and John Tyle Dr||Fri May 20, 2016
The legalization of marijuana is a hotly disputed topic. For the first time in decades, recreational marijuana is completely legal in a handful of states like Washington. Many other states are beginning to take similar measures in a path towards legalization but there is one unpleasant side effect that not many people think of. Whether recreational or medical, if you legalize marijuana, you need to establish proper protocols for how law enforcement will handle DUI laws as they pertain to marijuana consumption.
Motorists are being convicted of driving under the
influence of marijuana based on arbitrary state standards that have no
connection to whether the driver was actually impaired, says a study by
the nation’s largest auto club.
The problem is only growing as
more states contemplate legalizing the drug. At least three, and
possibly as many as 11 states, will vote this fall on ballot measures to
legalize marijuana for medicinal or recreational use, or both.
Legislation to legalize the drug has also been introduced in a half
Currently, six states where medical or recreational
marijuana use is legal – Colorado, Montana, Nevada, Ohio, Pennsylvania
and Washington – have set specific limits for THC, the chemical in
marijuana that makes people high, in drivers’ blood. But the study by
AAA’s safety foundation says the limits have no scientific basis and can
result in innocent drivers being convicted, and guilty drivers being
“There is understandably a strong desire by both
lawmakers and the public to create legal limits for marijuana impairment
in the same manner we do alcohol,” said Marshall Doney, AAA’s president
and CEO. “In the case of marijuana, this approach is flawed and not
supported by scientific research.”
Read more at: http://bit.ly/1T9wlzH
There are quite a lot of drawbacks to the constant flow of news that this generation is exposed to. It is great that we get to hear about the latest event while it is happening but that gives us very little time for fact checking and for information to really be understood. People regurgitate information based on just headlines. So, if you’re wondering what the state of San Diego crime really is, take a look at this.
The overall crime rate in San Diego County increased in 2015 by six percent although the region’s violent crime rate was the second lowest since 1980. NBC 7’s Vanessa Herrera reports.
(Published Thursday, April 14, 2016)
The overall crime rate in San Diego County increased in 2015 by six percent although the region’s violent crime rate was the second lowest since 1980.
A new report released Wednesday by the San Diego Association of Governments (SANDAG) focused on crime trends.
The report, Thirty-Six Years of Crime in the San Diego Region: 1980 Through 2015, includes a breakdown of crime statistics by community.
More than 74,000 violent and property crimes were reported in 2015. That averages out to just more than 200 crimes per day.
Of those, 85 percent were property crimes.
Images showing the crime rates for San Diego County as released by SANDAG’s annual report.
Photo credit: SANDAG
San Diego County’s violent crime rate was the second lowest it’s been since 1980.
There were 10,938 violent crimes in 2015 including reports of homicide, rape, robbery, and aggravated assault.
“Despite this year’s uptick, the crime rate was still the second lowest since 1980,” Dr. Cynthia Burke, director of SANDAG’s Criminal Justice Research Division said in the agency’s news release. “And the region still has one of lowest crime rates in the nation.”
Read the report here.
SANDAG works to develop transportation, housing, open space, energy, public safety, and binational projects.